Home » My crazy life » This morning’s shenanigans…

This morning’s shenanigans…

I haven’t posted in a while…this semester has been pretty crazy, and loaded with work. Four English classes will do that to ya. Anywho, I had a few minutes and thought I’d share a funny little thing that happened this morning. This isn’t my usual stuff, so I won’t take offense if you don’t like it. I promise to post some poetry or one of my papers soon.

As if this day couldn’t get any more weird. I’m sitting here watching television and I had to blow my nose, so I go into the kitchen to refill my coffee cup. I get there, turn around, go back to the living room where I just was, and grab a tissue to blow my nose. Then, I return to the kitchen to refill my coffee, and grab my cup then proceed back to the couch…coffee cup not full. All of this after waking up around 0430, and being fully awake…ya know, like a guy is first thing in the morning. So, I wake up my boyfriend (fill in the blank however you wish), then we talk until the alarm goes off at 0545. At this point, I’m still wide awake. The weather is pretty crappy outside, and normally I’d be dead to the world on a day like this…yet, somehow, I’m wide-the-fuck-awake and feel like drinking some coffee and watching the news. I send my man off to work and finish making the coffee. Then the boy wakes up and wants to cuddle on the couch with me as I watch the news. Fine, I can live with that. So I get us some cereal, because, let’s face it, at this point the dreariness of the weather is beginning to set in and now I’m feeling pretty lazy. So we sit and eat our cereal. I begin drinking my coffee…one sip. I got as far as one single, solitary sip. Then, it hit me. The comfort of the couch, the cuddliness of the blankets, the warmth of the coffee, and the relaxation of the early morning festivities finally smack me in the face and say, “Go back to sleep you idiot.” Then, my body succumbs to it all and I pass out. I’m talking drool falling from my mouth, snoring, dead to the world kind of passed out. It was some hardcore shit…and I loved it. Until the alarm went off at 0730. Ugh, what the fuck? I don’t want to get up. I turn the alarm off and wipe the sleep out of my eyes as I look around and get my equilibrium back. Yes, I remember this…oh look, coffee. I’ll take some of that…and I relish that cold sip as if it were just poured from the thermal carafe. I dwell on the awesomeness that is the flavor swimming around in my mouth, then the phone rings. It’s my sweetie. Then, at that moment, all is right in the world and suddenly being exhausted beyond belief is perfectly okay, and I light up. We talk for a minute or two, then he arrives to work and lets me go. That two minute phone call is always the best part of my day. Actually, I must correct myself, it’s the best start of my day. I have never felt this kind of happiness in my life…except when I had my kids, but that’s a different kind of love and commitment. When you have someone in your life that makes every crappy thing (no matter how small or big) in your life okay, that’s true love and a true connection. I don’t know what I did to deserve a man like him, but I’m glad I did it and I will never take him or his love for granted. He is my rock, my other half, my corn.

Leave a Reply

