Home » Uncategorized » Man in the Long Black Coat response…

Man in the Long Black Coat response…

In a previous post, I mentioned a Poetry class I took last semester and a paper we had to write about a poet and his/her poem.  Well, we also had to write our own poem in response to the poem we chose.  This is my response to Bob Dylan’s “Man in the Long Black Coat.”

 

Cricket are chirpin’, the water is high

I could leave now and not say goodbye

You say it’s warm, you say it’s hot

I can assure you it’s not

 

Bad enough to leave without

leaving a note just because he’s in a coat

I wouldn’t leave a note

I wouldn’t go with a man in a long black coat

 

I’ve been down and I’ve been out

I assure you, he doesn’t have the clout

To take me away from what I know

God is what makes my heart glow

 

God has a plan

and I proudly hold his hand

Bad things happen daily, this I know

I won’t be caught dead with the man in the long black coat

 

Those who choose not to live

will, in the end, have nothing to give

I’ve danced with the Devil

I’ve condoned evil

 

However, he didn’t win my heart

God is the only one who plays that part

Leave a Reply

