Home » poetry » “Dust”

“Dust”

Your love crept into my heart
Like dust collecting on a knickknack
Slowly, over time

One small speck at a time
Sometimes it was dusted off
Trying to avoid being distorted
Avoiding hurt, pain, and being broken or forgotten

Then, somehow, it began to collect
One tiny piece at a time
Refusing the dusting
Attaching pieces of you to my once broken heart

I still dust you off, but
Not for avoidance, for maintenance
I’m still me, but with pieces of you
To make me better,

Pieces of you to heal my heart,
To make me whole,
One tiny piece at a time
I’ll be covered completely

Still me, but with pieces of you
To complete me, to make me
A better me, whole
Complete with love

Leave a Reply

